New Post on Contemplative Cat and Also I Really Stink at This But at Least I Know my Weaknesses

There’s a new post over at Contemplative Cat. It’s called “I’m in the Laundry Room.” It’s actually quite beautiful, despite the title. Says me.

Also, in the interest of truth in advertising, I’m not in the laundry room. I’m on the bedroom floor with my computer in my lap, going crazy because I had this great plan, and did all this advanced work, to keep these blogs busy for the next few weeks. I was so organized and put together and, really, you’d hardly have recognized me. Until I BLEW IT.

You see, the post about Boys and Girls was SUPPOSED to be published NEXT WEEK–not last Saturday. And the post about the Laundry Room was SUPPOSED to be published TODAY not last Sunday. But apparently, I can’t even schedule a post properly. And now all my posts are scrunched up together in time and I have NOTHING in the hole for the next few weeks.

And so I was swearing softly to myself (softly may  not be the word I’m looking for) and Carey came in:

Carey: What’s wrong?

Heather: I’m TRYING to get all organized and plan everything out, and I keep doing stupid things and ruining everything.

And then Carey, who had just finished reading In the Laundry Room, smiled in the most annoying way possible (you know that calm peaceful Buddha smile? The one that says someone is about to say something really smug?)

"By Amitjain80 (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (www.creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)], via Wikimedia Commons" src="http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/ce/Mahavira_Enlightenment.jpg"

Yeah. He did.

And then he said the most useless thing possible: Darling. You’re not TRYING. You’re DOING. You may not have emerged into the sparkling sunshine at the top yet, but it’s not about the destination, is it?

And then I read “I’m in the Laundry Room” again and realized that “And most of the time I fail” is possibly the most accurate sentence in the whole piece. And also that I’m okay with that.

2 responses to “New Post on Contemplative Cat and Also I Really Stink at This But at Least I Know my Weaknesses

  1. Also if you’d done it all righ, I would have never read the Buddha smile analogy, which is my favorite thing of today.

Leave a Reply

