The Trouble With Quail Eggs

The trouble with quail eggs is that they are tiny. Yeah, I know they’re freakin’ cute. I know they’re deliciously sweet and yummy. I know they’re conversation starters. And that the quail lay them prolifically. I know they’re the new edgy “in” thing to serve at urban parties, the extra-local grown-in-your-own-living-room super food.

But still. They’re tiny.

Very small

Which makes them incredibly difficult to eat. It takes forever to crack enough for a decent breakfast, and you almost always end up with crumbled bits of shell you can’t get out of the eggs. Which is why we’ve always eaten them boiled. Until now.

Introducing the Quail Egg Cutters:

Solutions for your burning problems

So simple. Hold the quail egg in one hand, small end pointed up. Grab the cutters with your other hand.

This will only hurt a little bit

Place the small end inside the circle of the cutters, and squeeze shut. The top will come right off.

No problem

Now you just pour the egg out straight into your pan.

Out it comes

It only takes about five to make the equivalent of one chicken egg, and only about fifteen seconds to open five of them this way.

Yummy!

And here is what is left:

Remainders

And here is what I ate:

Breakfast is served!

Another solution to your most pressing problems. You’re welcome.

By the way, you can buy these handy clippers at Clover Quail Farm. I really do love them, and if you raise quail you will too. And if you don’t raise quail you should and I can help you with that too.

9 responses to “The Trouble With Quail Eggs

  1. I found you from Lev Grossman. Love your blog! I didn’t even know you could eat quail eggs. I mean, I guess if I had given it 2 seconds thought I would have come to this conclusion… pretty cool.

    • Yay! I’m so glad you found me through Lev Grossman. I LOVE that guy, but the first time I posted on his blog I told him I hated him. Nerves, I guess. I don’t think he held it against me, but I guess I might never know. Have you read his latest book yet? I have to ration fiction out to myself because once I start it acts like an addiction and I don’t do the other things in my life that need doing. So I haven’t read it yet, but I’m practically salivating while I wait.

      Anyway, glad you’re here and yeah, quail eggs are delicious. They’re sweet and mild flavored, but still eggy enough that if you ate an omelet you might not even know they weren’t chicken eggs–you’d just think you were having a particularly delicious omelet. 🙂 I would really love to see more people thinking about quail for urban and suburban gardens because they have many of the advantages of chickens, but a flock of 4 to 6 (enough for an omelet every three days or so) requires no more space than a pet rabbit. And you can use their litter for fertilizer. And they’re quieter than chickens (though the roosters can be a little rowdy if kept indoors).

      I’m supposed to be working. Writing for my clients so I can pay my bills. But blogging is more fun. 🙂 Thanks again for stopping by.

      • Yes, I’ve read MK and it was fabulous. I couldn’t do anything for 2 days until I finished it. I know exactly what you mean about rationing fiction. Especially something from someone you know you’ll love. (Like if JK Rowling ever wrote another Harry Potter book.)

        I think we all fell in love with Lev Grossman by hating him first. Me, out of jealousy. 😛

    • Ha ha! You need about a dozen a day? You DEFINITELY need the cutters, then. Get you some. 😀 (And I know where you can get a dozen girl quail to go with them, too).

    • Hee hee! Yes, they are adorable. You should see them boiled… better yet, you should see them hatched. I used to think there was nothing cuter in the world than a duckling, but that was before I met my first fresh-hatched quail. They look like Easter peeps–but they move, and cheep. 🙂

Leave a Reply

